Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Women's Institute of Technology

A Unit of Lalit Narayan Mithila University,Darbhanga
(Under Self Finance Mode) (AICTE PID: 1-16977553)

Higher Education

  • Home
  • Higher Education

One of the pre-requisites of the Rashtriya Uchchatar Shiksha Abhiyan (RUSA) Scheme requires that states form a State Higher Education Council (SHEC). This represents a fundamental change in Indian higher education policy, especially in recognition of the role of the states as the unit of planning, and the intent that multiple funding streams to states (Central and State) be aligned with the SHEC planning. However, beyond the RUSA requirements, the scale and complexity of the Indian higher education system require that the states play a more active role in planning and coordinating the system. To carry out this more active role, states must have effective State Higher Education Councils. The RUSA Scheme is expected to deliver key academic, administrative and governance reforms in the state higher education system during the 12th and 13th Plans. There are 16 RUSA objectives listed. The 16th is ‘Facilitate the creation of State Higher Education Councils (SHEC)’. The intent of RUSA is that SHECs are to play a central role in the delivery of the RUSA vision “to attain higher levels of access, equity and excellence in the state higher education system with greater efficiency, transparency, accountability and responsiveness.” The other 15 are high-level aspirational policy objectives – each one of which would most likely be viewed as medium- to long term goals in other countries. The No Objection Certificate (NOC) was issued by Department of Higher Education, Govt. of Bihar to the Registrar, L. N. Mithila University, Darbhanga in 2004 and after that Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam Women’s Institute of Technology, has been imparting technical education only to Women since AY 2004-05.

Download Report